An Upbuilding Discourse

Icon

Research on Being

How Does the Body Use Fuel?

I’ve been trying to get a bit more information in regards to the issue of elevated NEFAs (non-esterified fatty acids) and what effect they may have on the body and trying to wade through it is a bit difficult. People are just not as obsessed with NEFAs as they are with blood sugar but I’m starting to think that maybe the macronutrient balance of a diet does matter and that exercise is absolutely essential in all cases.

How things appear so far are like so:

On the one hand, the body can use glucose as a fuel source. One can thus have a high carb diet but if one is not active enough then this may lead to elevated blood sugar which can cause problems and potentially lead to insulin resistance.

On the other hand, the body can use fat as a fuel source. One can thus have a high fat diet but if one is not active enough then this may lead to elevated NEFAs which can cause problems and potentially lead to insulin resistance.

It seems to be that the trick is either to be active enough to reduce the possibility of elevated NEFAs or blood sugar on either sort of diet or to run your engine on both fuels thus reducing the possibility of an excess of either. However, it may be more difficult to produce elevated NEFAs unless a person already has a lot of excess adipose tissue but I am not sure of this yet.

This is all just sort of my own speculations as I have not thoroughly investigated this and, in any case, I’m not a scientist so the further I get into it the more confusing it becomes to me. But I shall be reading some books that may cover this or something similar to it such as the Perfect Health Diet so we’ll see what else I encounter. This is mostly just a note to myself that I want to consider the role of NEFAs in the body more thoroughly as time goes on.

Filed under: Diet, Macronutrients,

Leave a Reply

